Reading is Good for the Soul

Books are my favorite. Since I was young, as far back as I can remember, books have been my life. An alternate reality. An escape route that I can turn to when I’m tired or stressed, looking for a laugh or sometimes, a good cry. I love the world that books create and the calm that they give me.

My goal this year was to ready 50 books. I just finished #31 and am in the middle of #32. Considering the bustle of this year, I’m pretty proud of where I’m at and am hoping I’ll reach 40 books by the end of the year.

As I’ve gotten older, I’m finding that my interests have changed, evolved. I not only want to read love stories. I’m more open to non-fiction. I want to read books that challenge me, enrich me, not just provide a quick escape.

And without further ado, I give you the ten books I read this year that I challenged and excited me.

Project Best Kim’s Favorite Books This Year (So Far…)

Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

Give and Take by Adam Grant

The Rosie Project by Graemie Simsion

Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler

I Am Malala by Malala

Led by Faith (Left to Tell) by Immaculee Ilibagiza

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb

Just ten that I’ve loved so far this year – what have you been reading?

Leave a Reply

