Early Morning Coffee Thoughts

Due to a fire alarm that ran out of battery at 4am, my day is off to a different start than usual. Which is fine, because it’s 6:34am and instead of rushing around before work, I’m sitting on the couch, with with the fireplace on, sipping on coffee, snuggled under my blanket, watching the news. This is a luxury I only get to enjoy on days off. It’s my favorite way to start the day.

IMG_20151124_063618878

As I sit, I’m struck with how thankful I am for these few quiet moments before my day begins.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my December goals and resolutions as I prepare to re-focus on Project: Best Kim in just a few short days. One thing that I did about a year ago that I want to begin again is a gratitude journal.

A gratitude journal can be different things to different people. To me, it’s a place where once a day I write down one thing I am grateful for. It can be something good that happened that day or just something in my life I am grateful for. What I love about a gratitude journal is that it forces me to look for the positive. Even during a bad day where everything goes wrong and stress levels are through the roof, there is always something to be thankful for. Always something good in life to appreciate.

So my gratitude journal will be coming back and I will get in the habit of writing in it every day.

But until then, I’ll just enjoy and appreciate these quiet moments this morning.

One thought on “Early Morning Coffee Thoughts

Leave a Reply

